Minnesotans are represented at the capitols in both St. Paul and Washington D.C. The U.S. Senate and U.S. House in Washington function much like the state Legislature with one major difference. The bills U.S. senators and representatives debate apply to the whole country – not just the state.

The U.S. Senate has 100 members; two senators are elected from each state. They are elected to six-year terms and about one-third of the seats are elected every two years. Senators are elected state-wide and each represents the entire state.

The U.S. House of Representatives has 435 members; the number of representatives a state has is based on the state’s population. Minnesota has eight representatives in the U.S. House, each elected from one of the state’s eight congressional districts. Each U.S. House member represents about 500,000 people. Unlike U.S. Senators, U.S. Representatives represent those people who live within their districts. They each serve a two-year term and are elected on even-numbered years.

Although the U.S. House is often informally referred to as Congress, that term really refers to both the U.S. House and U.S. Senate taken together.

Current contact information and listing of elected officials serving south central Minnesota is available here.